Client Resources Articles
New Jersey Announces an Increase in Minimum Wage for 2018
Effective January 1, 2018 the New Jersey minimum wage rate will increase to $8.60 per hour from $8.44/hour. Don’t forget to adjust pay for any affected employees coincident with their first payroll in 2018.
NJ-W3 Form - Annual Reconciliation of Tax Withheld for Tax Year 2017
New Jersey is scheduled to mail the NJ-W3 Form - Annual Reconciliation of Tax Withheld for the 2017 tax year in mid-December. Pieper Payroll prepares and files that form for you as part of our year-end reporting service. There is no action required on your part.
IRS Mailing Notices of 2018 Deposit Requirements for 941
The IRS is mailing 2018 Deposit Requirements for Form 941 during the first week of November. Only clients that have a change in their deposit frequency, usually monthly to semi-weekly or vice-versa, will receive a notice. If you receive such a notice please scan or fax it to our attention.
New Jersey Notice of Gross Income Tax Withholding Requirement Mailed
New Jersey is mailing 2018 Deposit Requirements for gross income withholding taxes during the month week of November. Only clients that have a change in their deposit frequency will receive a notice. If you receive such a notice please scan or fax it to our attention.
New Jersey Announces Mailing of "Employer Contribution Rate Notice" for Fiscal Year 2017-2018
The New Jersey "Notice of Employer Contribution Rates," for fiscal year 2017-2018, are scheduled to be mailed during the fourth week of July 2017. These are the ‘experience’ based rates that are adjusted annually based on the amount of unemployment and disability claims made against your business.
Unemployment/Disability experience rates in New Jersey are assigned on a fiscal year basis (i.e. July 1st to June 30). All new employers (except successors) are assigned new employer rates for the first three calendar years after which a calculated rate is assigned based on employment experience.
Even though NJ does not issue the rates until the last week of July, they are retro-active to July 1st. If your rate does change, we will recalculate your tax liability back to July 1st and credit/debit your account for any differences when NJ 3Q17 quarterly reports are completed.
This link will provide more information about rates and the rate process: http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/ea/rates/rateindex.html
New Jersey Releases Worker 2018 Unemployment, Temporary Disability, and Family Leave Insurance Rates
2018 Worker unemployment, workforce, temporary disability and family leave insurance rates are as follows
- Unemployment: 0.3825% (unchanged from 2017).
- Workforce: 0.0425% (unchanged from 2017)
- Temporary Disability: 0.19% (lowered from 0.24% in 2017)
- Family Leave: 0.09% (lowered from 0.1% in 2017
The 2018 taxable wage base will be $33700. An increase from $33500 in 2017.
New Jersey Combined Assessment Forms Mailed
Clients have inquired about combined assessment forms currently arriving in the mail…. These assessments are not a payroll tax and should be paid directly by the employer before August 30, 2017. The assessment is levied to any employer that had employees in 2016.
As per the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Website, assessments for various state funds have been authorized by the NJ legislature. Combined Assessment bills for the calendar year have a mailing date in mid-July and are due in 30 days. Payroll Tax Services generally do not pay these assessments for their clients.
Seven different assessments are levied on New Jersey employers. Assessments fund programs that are not covered by the quarterly contributions. The assessments are not penalties and are not the result of an error. The same assessment rates apply to all employers. Some employers are not subject to all seven assessments. The party responsible for payment of assessments is the employer. In most cases, Payroll Tax Services do not pay assessments for their clients.
This link describes the assessments in more detail. Please note NJ does not appear to have updated the site since last year: http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/ea/assessments/assessments_index.html
New Jersey Announces an Increase in Minimum Wage for 2017
Effective January 1, 2017 the New Jersey minimum wage rate is $8.44 per hour from 8.38 per hour. Don’t forget to adjust pay for any affected employees coincident with their first payroll in 2017.