New Jersey Payroll Calculator

Online Payroll Calculators for NJ Businesses

/ New Jersey Payroll Calculator

How Do I Calculate a Payroll Check?

Before using our free NJ payroll check calculator, here are some payroll basics you should know:

Payroll taxes are subtracted from the employee’s gross pay by the employer to get their net pay. Payroll taxes are withheld from each paycheck as it is received each pay cycle.

Payroll taxes include Federal and State Income taxes, Social Security and Medicare taxes, and Unemployment taxes.

Federal and state income taxes are paid by the employee. They are calculated based on the employee’s W-4 form and their amount of pay based on a formula provided by the IRS and State Department of Revenue. Each State has their own formula. New Jersey does not follow Federal guidelines for how some deductions are taxed.

Social Security and Medicare taxes, are paid by both the employer and the employee. Federal and State Unemployment taxes are usually paid by the employer. New Jersey is one of three states where both the employer and the employee pay unemployment taxes. State Unemployment tax rates vary by employer and are based on the number of unemployment claims. New businesses start with an average rate. The business moves to an experience based rate over time and rates are reviewed for change every year.

To calculate Social Security, Medicare, and Unemployment taxes, the employer must know both the current tax rates and what the current wage threshold is. Once the wage threshold is exceeded then no more tax will be due. Tax rates and wage thresholds change every year.

Use our pay check calculators as often as you like without obligation. They are automatically updated as payroll laws and tax tables change, but should not be relied upon to calculate exact taxes, payroll or other financial data.

payroll-in-nj-quote
our-promise-seal
20-off

Salary Payroll Check Calculator

Calculate your net pay or “take home pay” by entering your per-period or annual salary along with the pertinent Federal, State and local W-4 information.


Hourly Payroll Check Calculator

Take home pay is calculated based on up to six different hourly pay rates that you enter along with the pertinent Federal, State and local W-4 information.

Gross Pay Calculator

Use this calculator to gross up wages based on net pay. For example, if an employee receives $500 in take-home pay, this calculator can be used to calculate the gross amount that must be used when calculating payroll taxes. It determines the amount of gross wages before taxes and deductions that are withheld, given a specific take-home pay amount.
New Jersey is one of the most popular states selected in our payroll check calculator. Here is some additional information about the Garden State.

To register as an employer with employees working in New Jersey complete form NJ-REG

If you have employees in New Jersey and your payroll has reached $1000.00 or more, you may be subject to the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation and Temporary Disability laws.

In New Jersey both the employer and worker contribute to the unemployment, disability, and workforce trust funds. All new employers (except successors) are assigned new employer rates for the first three calendar years after which a calculated rate is assigned based on employment experience.

Unemployment/Disability Rates in New Jersey are assigned on a fiscal year basis (i.e. July 1st to June 30). All new employers (except successors) are assigned new employer rates for the first three calendar years after which a calculated rate is assigned based on employment experience.

Employer Taxes:
Unemployment Insurance (UI)
Workforce Development/Supplemental Workforce Funds (WF/SWF)
State Disability Insurance (SDI)

Employee Taxes:
Unemployment Insurance (UI)
Workforce Development/Supplemental Workforce Funds (WF/SWF)
State Disability Insurance (SDI)
Family Leave Insurance (FLI)

New Hire Reporting: New Jersey
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 15 days if through electronic media, otherwise 20 days on Form W-4 (Employees Withholding Allowance Certificate) to:
New Hire Operations Center
PO Box 4654
Trenton, NJ 08650-4654
Phone: 877-654-4737
Fax: 800-304-4901

Remit Withholding for Child Support to:
New Jersey Family Support Payment Center
PO Box 4880
Trenton, NJ 08650-4880
800-559-3772

Reciprocal States:
Pennsylvania

Back to Top